PDA

View Full Version : Barefoot running diaries

BattleDrill3
08-30-10, 22:43
The skinny: this IS NOT a Vibram Five Finger thread. This is not a Chi Running/mid-foot running vs "traditional" running thread. This is about being tired of sore knees, tired of looking for VFF Bikila's in my size, remembering being inspired as a young private by a member of RRD at Benning, and eventually, eight years later, just saying, "**** it."

No VFF's, no Nike Free's, just barefoot. Some internet/anecdotal research later, and here we are. Anyone else who's taken this admittedly odd path, feel free to add your observations/horror stories. Feel free to ask questions, but realize this: while I have been training people in physical fitness for years, I AM NOT AN EXPERT in barefoot running. Today, August 30th, 2010, is my first day trying it. THERE WILL BE NO DISCUSSION of opinions about the merits of one method vs. the other, just observations of what I experience.

That said, I felt this warranted a new thread, but moderators, if you disagree, feel free to throw this in somewhere else. I already rashly started a new thread about something before checking around, and I learned my lesson. And thus, the experiment begins.

BattleDrill3
08-30-10, 23:43
I'm a fairly fit 27 year old man, 5'10," 170 lbs. Spending the better part of a decade of jumping out of planes, wearing a ruck, climbing large vertical pieces of earth, and running missions in the predictable places, my knees (specifically my MCL and quadriceps tendons) have begun hurting all the time.