PDA

View Full Version : DDM4V1

fatdan81
08-31-10, 08:47
i'm a newbie here with a new DDm4v1 with the Omega X Rail 12.0FSP handguards. what i'm thinking of doing is replacing the front sight post with a flip up front sight gas block and putting on a flip up rear sight on. then i will install an aimpoint. does this make sense to anyone? (again, newbie here) or does anyone have any pictures of a set up similar to this that they can post?

TriumphRat675
08-31-10, 09:45
I would leave it alone. You've got an excellent out of the box setup right there. The fixed front sight is as robust as you'll ever get. You can mount lights in the optimal 12'o'clock position. You've got plenty of rail space. The fixed front site will not interfere with an Aimpoint.

Before doing anything else, buy the Aimpoint and try it out. Then make the decision to swap out the front sight.

THCDDM4
08-31-10, 09:55
^I agree. Leave the front sight on. I've got a DDM4 V1 and I am gonna get an aimpoint soon. The iron sights on the DDM4 are great and there are different mounts/risers to co-witness your aimpoint/eotech etc. with the iron sights; so I have been told.

I mount my Light at the 3 o'clock position though, for me it makes no sense to mount a light at 12 o'clock; a light can be a potential target (In the dark if I am looking for a BG with a light, he could potentially see the light and shoot for it knowing I am right behind it somewhere) for a BG and if you're at 12 o'clock the BG has a better chance of aiming at your light and hitting you than if you have a 3 o'clock for a righty, or 6 o'clcok for a lefty. Since the light will be opposite of you there is less chance of getting hit if the light is targeted. I know there are a lot of variables here; but I think it makes sense to keep a potential "target" for the BG's as far away from my body/head as possible. YMMV.

Magic_Salad0892
08-31-10, 09:55
If you're not going to run suppressed I'd leave the front sight alone.