PDA

View Full Version : BCG Lube?

blackjack_03
08-31-10, 13:47
I am new to the ar and was wondering what kind of lubricant i should use on the bcg.

QuadBomb
08-31-10, 14:11
I'm not an expert, but I know that this doesn't have to be a difficult choice. Anything that provides lubricity and stays where you put it will work. The most important parts to lube are the bolt, the cam pin and any of the "shiny" surfaces on the BCG. Lubing the whole thing won't hurt of course.

I don't like Breakfree CLP because it evaporates even when the gun is not being used.

Edit: I'm assuming you are looking at using some type of oil. Some people like grease, but I've never tried that.

JR TACTICAL
08-31-10, 14:15
try Silp2000, I have been using it for about 6 months and It works great, they say its good for 1000 rounds before you need to re apply but I do it every 250-300. its really thick and stays in place unlike breakfree CLP, but like the other guy said, anything that lubricates will work

rychencop
08-31-10, 14:42
Mobil 1

payj
08-31-10, 14:43
Mpro7 seems to work good...

bkb0000
08-31-10, 14:52
we haven't had a good lube fight in a while.. this oughtta be fun.

i'm currently using Mobile 1 0w20 to lube after cleaning.. heavy application to all interior metal parts, wipe with oily rag to outside steel parts.

i then re-lube during firing with a mix of 0w20 and PB Blaster penetrating oil. it relubes and helps break up the mud.

just what i'm currently doing... i change my lube types and methods about every 6 months, it seems... and my guns always run. so in other words- just make sure it's oil, and it's wet.

ETA- the only stuff i've found to be detrimental to function is thick oil additives, like Hyperlube.. thought i'd be smart and add some of that to a batch a made a while ago.. seemed like it would add some sticky viscosity, but all it did was turn into paste in the gun.

fmhscopeland
08-31-10, 14:53