PDA

View Full Version : Glock 20 Primer Smear

HankL
07-06-07, 09:20
I am having a primer smear issue with a brand new G20. The only ammo I have fired so far is PMC 170 gr HP. The spent cases look fine in all other respects.

I could post a pic later today but they look like primers from a 1911 with hot loads and weak recoil and or fp springs where the slide is unlocking before the fp retracts.

I fired several rounds from the same box from my Colt Delta and the primers look normal so I would think the ammo is not the problem.

Is this a normal occurrence in the 20? Is it a dangerous condition?

I am a Glock noob except for my 26 BUG so any help would be greatly appreciated. :confused:

Hank

jackinfl
07-06-07, 11:00
I dont know how to answer this, but the glock FP is in best descriptive terms SPEAR shaped and makes a distinctively different mark on the primer than a standard round or pointy firing pin.

Is the gun malfunctioning at all? or is this something you noticed when you picked up the empty fired casing?

A picture would be worth a thousad words.

HankL
07-06-07, 11:41
A definite smear as described in the 1911 scenario above, not like what the G26 leaves on a primer.

I'll post a picture this afternoon.

rubberneck
07-06-07, 11:46
I am having a primer smear issue with a brand new G20. The only ammo I have fired so far is PMC 170 gr HP. The spent cases look fine in all other respects.

I could post a pic later today but they look like primers from a 1911 with hot loads and weak recoil and or fp springs where the slide is unlocking before the fp retracts.

I fired several rounds from the same box from my Colt Delta and the primers look normal so I would think the ammo is not the problem.

Is this a normal occurrence in the 20? Is it a dangerous condition?

I am a Glock noob except for my 26 BUG so any help would be greatly appreciated. :confused:

Hank