PDA

View Full Version : Stuck cases, popped primers, and a ruined bolt.

greene
09-13-10, 17:26
I was out shooting my rifle with some silver bear, ultramax and hornady tap ammo. Shot the silver bear first then the hornady. The siver bear worked perfectly, the hornady kept popping primers, and once I started shooting the ultramax through the gun I got stuck cases.

On the last round that was stuck I tried to mortar the rifle, but could not get the case out, the bolt was also stuck in the chamber. I pounded it out and the empty case showed the primer was gone, the rim of round is bulged out like it exploded towards the extractor and the extractor itself had been bent from the round going off. Also on the back of the round where the bolt would make contact there is a piece of brass fused to the rim.

I understand the cases likely got stuck from shooting steel cased ammo before the brass, but why the popped primers and the bent extractor? I can send pics to anyone that is interested, but suck with computers and don't know how to post pics.
The rifle specs are as follows:

noveske recon barrel
fail zero bolt
daniel defense carrier
vltor mur upper
buffer is a spikes

This rifle has been giving me popped primers every time I shoot brass cased ammo through it cheaper ammo works just fine???

Also if the bolt is still intact aside from the extractor is it safe to just keep the bolt and replace the extractor? All input is appreciated.

Todd.K
09-13-10, 18:01
This rifle has been giving me popped primers every time I shoot...
STOP SHOOTING IT.

the rim of round is bulged out like it exploded towards the extractor and the extractor itself had been bent from the round going off. Also on the back of the round where the bolt would make contact there is a piece of brass fused to the rim.
What you had was a KB that was just weak enough to not destroy the entire upper.

greene
09-13-10, 18:10