PDA

View Full Version : What are some good multi gun practice drills?

ambluemax
09-14-10, 20:57
Ok, maybe I can post in here and not tick anybody off (threw my hat into the ring on piston guns...bad idea). I'm just getting started in the world of AR and a big part of why I finally took the plunge was to shoot 3-gun/ IDPA DMG. My pistol and shotgun skills are pretty solid, the rifle is definatly my weakness. But fear not, I have access to some areas where I can set up pretty much anything COF wise and an M&P15-22 so I can practice like its going out of style.

However....I need some ideas of drills to work on. I have all the space I need, but of course my prop resourses are limited.

What are some of the drills you guys do when you are practicing your action rifle skills?

Oh, I'm a 3 division sharpshooter in IDPA and have shot some USPSA too (but unclassified)...so I'm not a stranger to action shooting, just running the courses with long guns.....

Chris Rhines
09-15-10, 20:04
Excellent, I've been waiting for months for someone to ask this question! Here are some of the rifle and multigun drills I use.

Improved Rifle Ten - originally by Jeff Cooper.

This is a good simulation of a long-range rifle stage. Put two 10" steel plates out at 300 yards, as far apart as you can get on your range. Mark a shooting position (I use orange traffic cones) at 0, 25, 50, 75, and 100 yards. Start with your rifle at ready, safety on, standing clear of the 0-yard shooting position. On the start signal, engage each target with one round only from each shooting position. From the 0, 25, and 50-yard markers you can use any shooting position you like. At the 75-yard marker, you can use any position except for prone. From the 100-yard marker, you must shoot offhand. Score is 5 points per hit, divided by your time in minutes. 40 is two minutes is very good.

The Switch