PDA

View Full Version : Bye-bye cd's & dvd's at Best Buy

Icculus
09-16-10, 09:12
Bad news for me since I work in the CD/DVD replicating industry but perhaps good news for those of you looking for deals as as Best Buy slashes their inventory of these items. Basically Best Buy is clearing out space used for cd's and dvd's to make room for other items

http://www.dailyfinance.com/story/company-news/best-buy-cut-cds-dvds-as-google-apple-prep-for-mus/19635476/

GermanSynergy
09-16-10, 09:17
The only reason I go to Best Buy is to buy DVD's..... Guess I'll use Amazon exclusively...

Palmguy
09-16-10, 09:25
Interesting.

I've still got two gift cards from last Christmas that I haven't spent there. My inner geek likes to go to BB just to walk around but I rarely seem to buy anything there.

GermanSynergy
09-16-10, 09:27
Interesting.

I've still got two gift cards from last Christmas that I haven't spent there. My inner geek likes to go to BB just to walk around but I rarely seem to buy anything there.

My guess is that BB goes the way of Circuit City...

Voodoochild
09-16-10, 09:42
I dont see them going the way of CC. They are getting rid of inventory that doesn't move. Less overhead and money being wasted.

No.6
09-16-10, 10:10
Circuit City went tits up due to management. They failed in two key areas. First they had a corporate culture of fear. They'd send out an email saying "You will be terminated if you _______". Then they'd change the procedure and you'd get an email asking "Why are you still doing it the old way. Didn't you get the memo we (didn't) send out? By the way you'll be fired if you don't do it the new way." "Install this item even if the customer doesn't have a place for it 'cause it's an accessory and it's a high profit item. Just roll it up and tuck it behind the TV. If you don't, then you'll be fired." And yes I can document all the above.