PDA

View Full Version : AR-15 pistol to SBR carbine?

Spike59
07-11-07, 13:19
I'm new to this genre of AR-15s. I want to build a SBR and I thought it would be easier to buy a RRA 10.5 pistol then start my SBR paperwork. I would have a working firearm until my paperwork has cleared and all I would need to finish would be a buffer assembly and a stock. Sounds easy but I have not read anywhere on this forum about anyone going this route. Am I missing something or can I go on with my plan. Any help on this matter will be appreciated!

GunLovinTexan
07-11-07, 14:03
its been done that way before, not the way I recommend but it works.

You can also buy the Lower then SBR it and put a SBR upper on it.

The way I recommend is to buy a Factory SBR such has a Colt 6921.

Rob

BookHound
07-11-07, 15:14
Spike59, my experiences are actually different from GunLovinTexan's. While I know several people who have bought factory SBRs, many more folks I know went the way you seem to be considering. Just don't put a vertical forward grip on it while it is a pistol or you've made an AOW!

Buy the pistol and have fun.
Engrave the lower.
Send in the Form 1.
When Form 1 is approved, slap a buttstock on the puppy.

Hang onto the pistol buffer as you might need it for another SBR in the future. ;)

Either way will work for ya though.

Mark

Spike59
07-11-07, 15:18
Thank you for responding to my thread. I'm glad I will be able to go the AR pistol route. I guess the way I see it the RRA AR pistol upper and lower should be about as perfect a fit as I could get. Function should be as good as I could hope for. From what I have read, the RRA is one of the better AR clones. I just want to have an entry level AR that I could expand on later. Once again, thanks for your info.

Spike59
07-11-07, 15:26