PDA

View Full Version : Full Length 1911 Guide Rod vs. USGI

ca_fireman19
09-19-10, 22:42
I am relatively new to 1911's and looking for some guidance. I recently bought a new Kimber Stainless II. As I'm sure most of you know, most of the Kimber line come with a full length guide rod. Normally I would think that a full length rod would be the best choice since all of my other pistols have them, however, the 1911 was specifically designed with a shorter version. I know there are benefits for the USGI size rod, one hand cocking, for instance, but what is the BEST all around choice for a carry piece? I plan on using this piece for on duty carry and off duty concealed carry. So, with that said, please let the debate begin.

Pappabear
09-19-10, 23:47
I think that most on this forum go with USGI , shorter version. I have 4 1911's and none have the full length guide rod. I switched out my Guide rod initially on my TRP with a Wilson FLGR, and it worked fine. But I went back to a Ed Brown / USGI to be consistent.

DocGKR
09-20-10, 01:12
I've been carrying 1911's for 25 years. A properly customized 5" steel-frame single-stack 1911 in .45 ACP is a superb, unparalleled choice for the dedicated user willing to spend a significant amount of money to get it properly initially set-up and considerable time to maintain it. Keep in mind with 1911 pistols that calibers other than .45 ACP and barrels shorter than 5" induce increasingly greater problems. I personally will NOT use any 1911 with a Schwartz firing pin safety (like on the Kimber II pistols) as I have seen high numbers of them fail; the Colt Series 80 firing pin safety is the only one I might trust for urban LE use, but they have also been known to fail in harsh environments (particularly surf zone and high dust) so I generally prefer a standard USG style 1911 pistol w/o firing pin safety. Likewise, I would NEVER use a FLGR on a duty pistol; stick with the short USGI.