PDA

View Full Version : challenge coins

Bill Bryant
09-21-10, 12:06
I've just learned about challenge coins.

Should I give my son a Recruit Training Regiment challenge coin at MCRD graduation, or do challenge coins actually mean something a little later as they represent other bonds--campaigns, companies, etc?

I'm new to this. Talk to me about challenge coins.

Bill Bryant
09-21-10, 13:07
The boards seem to be acting up today. I'm bumping this to the top to make sure people see it.

William B.
09-21-10, 13:22
There would be absolutely nothing wrong with giving your son a challenge coin. Marines get challenge coins for promotions, deploying with their unit, graduating USMC and DOD schools, the Marine Corps Ball, etc.

Sometimes Generals, Sgt's Major, MOH awardees, Old Corps veterans, and others will have personal challenge coins that they give to Marines at their discretion.

Bill Bryant
09-21-10, 13:24
So you end up needing to have a dozen different challenge coins in your pocket every time you go in a bar?

William B.
09-21-10, 13:29
I've never actually seen that happen and I lived in Jacksonville, NC (aka Camp LeJeune) for 13 years.

http://terminallance.com/?p=361

Bill Bryant
09-21-10, 13:35
So the tradition of an actual challenge is pretty much gone, and you can just keep them in a case as you collect them?

William B.
09-21-10, 13:42
Maybe somebody else on this board has a different experience, but I've never had anybody pull a coin on me. To me they commemorate some hard times I spent with some good Marines... and yes. I do keep them in a display case :p

Just so you know I've followed your posts about your son and I want you to know (although I already know that you are) that you should be very proud of him.

Bill Bryant
09-21-10, 14:00
Just so you know I've followed your posts about your son and I want you to know (although I already know that you are) that you should be very proud of him.