PDA

View Full Version : Quick question/opinions on IFAK bag sizes / My IFAK kit

Wilco
09-22-10, 15:50
Hey guys, i've been doing some research, and have it down to the following bags. Just a little about myself. I am a EMT-B (not for a living though) and also have my wilderness EMT.

The SpecOps Compact IFAK bag
http://specopstech.com/osc/product_info.php?products_id=1651{1}32

The TT IFAK bag
http://www.tacticaltailor.com/medicpouch.aspx?variation=841

I love TT stuff, and have quite a bit of their gear, and it works well, and is tough to boot. I have looked at other IFAK bags, but they just seem enormous. I like the SpecOps compact bag (two Molles, smaller footprint) and is wondering of peoples experiences with both sizes and if the small bag can take all of my gear.

My kit is for the range and when I am at my ranch, which 30 miles from the nearest town. My kit will include:

Combat tourniquet , 4" gauze, 4" gauze squares, 4" Kerlix, 4" Ace bandage, nas airway, benchmade model 7, sharpie, tape, Hemostatic Agent, Asherman Chest Seal, some minor boo boo bandages, pocket mask, 2 x 6" Izzy bandages, three sets of gloves and some of the instruction/how to cards (in case it is me, and my friends are working on me).

Obviously the tourniquet and benchmade can be on the bag outside or on my first line belt. I wondering if this will fit in a compact bag, or if I need to go with a bigger bag/and I missing something you would add to my kit? thank you for any responses.

Decon
09-23-10, 21:44
I'm not confident that will all fit in a compact. May also depend on what you mean by pocket mask and if you care about the organization

mikeross506
09-30-10, 19:42
Organization is huge. Nobody wants to reach into there kit during high stress and have everything fall onto the ground!

Rmplstlskn
09-30-10, 20:27