PDA

View Full Version : Glock, FN, and S&W

RancidSumo
09-27-10, 03:02
I was able to try out these three guns side by side today and thought I'd offer up my experience as to how they compare. The three guns are a Glock 19 (Gen 2) with less than 100rds through it, FNX-9 brand new, and a S&W M&P9 coming up on 1000rds.

http://i307.photobucket.com/albums/nn285/RancidSumo/downsize.jpg

Initial impressions for me is that the M&P and the Glock have the edge in ergonomics, for me at least. My dad and his friend both found the FN very ergonomic and it wasnt bad for me, just felt more "cluttered". As for the sights, I liked all three but Im not too experienced with different kinds so I'll refrain from commenting too much other than to say the FN sights seemed very tall to me.

Trigger- The FN had far and away the best and lightest trigger in the group. Even the double action pull wasn't too bad. It didn't seem too long or heavy. The single action seemed a little "spungy" but overall pretty good and my pick for the best. The 19 I would say had the second best with a heavier but very crisp break. Lastly is the M&P. The trigger was lighter than the Glock but not as clean even after almost 1000rds.

Recoil- The Glock had slightly more recoil than the others but not enough to make much of a difference. In my hands the FN and the M&P felt almost the same in recoil characteristics. All were of course easily manageable.

Accuracy- All three were accurate enough for intended purposes. The Glock and Smith shot virtually the same but it was hard to get a good read on the FN for reasons I'll discuss below. Here is the only group I got a pic of. Five shots at five yards rapid fire (I know it isn't a very far or very difficult shot but thats the distance I was practicing at when the camera came out.) with the M&P-

http://i307.photobucket.com/albums/nn285/RancidSumo/0926101631.jpg