PDA

View Full Version : I hope I am never this "highspeed"

signal4l
07-15-07, 17:01
My apologies for linking to another forum.

I hadnt seen this topic discussed here and would value the input of our forum members.

I have been to a few classes. Im one of a few firearms instructors in my dept. Im no expert, but hell would freeze over before I would conduct this drill. The potential for disaster is obvious. The gain is nonexistant. Am I wrong???

http://www.ambackforum.com/viewtopic.php?p=438424#438424

Luckystiff
07-16-07, 06:11
My old SO sent every SWAT guy to Bens class and they all talked about this drill. They said they were freaked out at first but got over it. I did the drill once. No need to ever do it again and I have never ran it with any of my people or the SWAT guys when I was their Range Master.

Robb Jensen
07-16-07, 06:37
Damn! You would really have to trust the gun handling skill of your classmates.

http://www.thegunzone.com/amback/dgc_tisa.jpg

http://www.thegunzone.com/amback/dgc_tisa2.jpg

John_Wayne777
07-16-07, 07:02
I'd be interested to know who the instructor was that lead the drill pictured in that thread.

EDIT -- Explained by Sam

There may be valid reasons for the drill being set up the way it is. I'll leave the explaining of the merits/folly of such things to people who actually know what they are talking about.

rob_s
07-16-07, 07:04
This would appear to go way beyond the snake drill. I wouldn't participate in something like that. Hell, I'd be reluctant to do the snake drill depending on how well I knew the class members and what I had seen them do in the class up to that point.

John_Wayne777
07-16-07, 07:06
Damn! You would really have to trust the gun handling skill of your classmates.

Yup.

There are a number of folks I have trained with whom I would trust in such a drill.

Personally I don't think I would trust myself to participate in the drill even if surrounded by the aforementioned trusted folks.

dialM4murder
07-16-07, 07:29