PDA

View Full Version : Which 1911?

tr1290
07-16-07, 17:27
Ed Brown Special Forces (http://www.edbrown.com/cgi-bin/htmlos.cgi/00188.1.867718830933734515)

Wilson Combat Tactical Super Grade (http://www.wilsoncombat.com/p_tactical_supergrade.asp)

Kimber Warrior (http://www.kimberamerica.com/pistols/custom/warrior.php)

I am looking for the one that is the most reliable, most accurate and the maker with the best customer service.

SHIVAN
07-16-07, 18:04
Wilson is probably the answer to this query...

abnartyguy
07-16-07, 22:33
I wouldn't even worry about getting the full house Wilson, i have 3 CQB's and the out shoot most everything else i run into. later!
-Zef M.

Grin Reaper
07-16-07, 23:24
I'd worry about reliability from the Kimber. Mine would start failing to extract after about 60 rounds (and that was with a clean pistol, using Wilson Combat mags, factory ammo). But to be fair, that was with a Kimber CDPII, not the Warrior.

I have no experience with your other 2 options, either. Come to think of it, I probably shouldn't be replying at all.

[looks around uncomfortably]

trio
07-17-07, 07:22
reliability and accuracy between the Ed Brown and Wilson will likely be a push for comprable models (if I am not mistaken, though, the Wilson Supergrades are more expensive, maybe significantly, than the EB SF model)...

Customer service, though, wilson will win over Ed Brown hands down, in my experience...YMMV

rob_s
07-17-07, 08:10
I have a CQB and a Special Forces, and I prefer the SF. With that said, I always push people towards the CQB now mostly because of the customer service. I also suggest the Nighhawk GRP, but it has a higher street price than the CQB.

It's unfortunate that companies like Ed Brown and Les Baer haven't learned a thing or two from the other guys. They make good guns but I tend to steer people making their first $2k pistol purchase towards companies with better customer service, even if I don't think that their product is the best.