PDA

View Full Version : Draco as an SBR?

RD62
10-12-10, 20:24
I'm still pretty new to the AK world.

I picked up an SGL-21 around this time last year and really enjoy it and learning to use the AK platform. I have been lusting after adding a 7.62x39 Krink style AK SBR to my collection but the pickins in this particular flavor of AK seem pretty slim.

I have seen several Draco pistols that have been converted to SBRs but I know next to nothing about them other than they are imported by Century. I know Henderson Defense has a "Certified" Draco that they supposedly check over before the sale and for the $$$ it seems like a reasonable way to get what I'm looking for.

Can any of the more AK knowledgeable members here (Templar, etc) shed anymore light on this weapon, it's manufacture, reliability, and suitability in an SBR role?

Thansk!

lloydkristmas
10-12-10, 21:21
Im no expert but I do know a little.....I believe they use an unfinished underfolder trunnion, so take that into consideration when doing SBR work. Also, unlike the WASR's, the Draco is genuine Romanian, since it doesnt fall into the ATF (or whoever makes the rules) regulations for "American parts" and such. So in a sense, the Draco is gonna be the more 'authentic' of the Romanian guns.

As far as I know they are relatively easy to SBR, and lots of people do it. Id venture to guess its the cheapest way to get into the SBR game at this time. I'll probably pick one up soon, at 350ish dollars, they cant be beat

SteyrAUG
10-12-10, 21:48
They actually covered this in SAR this month. I think they went with an ACE folding stock.

RD62
10-17-10, 18:49
Any other experiences or opinions on the Draco?

POS or inexpensive and reliable means to a 7.62x39 AK SBR?

22_Shooter
10-18-10, 02:54
I've been researching the hell out of these things for the past month or so.