PDA

View Full Version : Why hasn't S&W copied Apex?

karandom
10-14-10, 16:39
First off forgive me if this have been covered, but I haven't been able to find the thread if it has.

I plan on picking up a M&P9 with the APEX DCAEK due to the near universal praise of the APEX parts. I can't help but wonder why hasn't S&W taken APEX's trigger upgrades and added them to the M&P? Clearly APEX has figured out how to make the M&P trigger run "how it should" and all the parts drop in. I admit that I have no manufacturing knowledge so it may be too costly for Smith to retool for the parts or it may infringe on the intellectual property rights of APEX or Smith just doesn't care. I just find it strange the S&W will updated known problems such as the striker, but neglect implementing a better trigger.

Am I completely crazy or can someone help me out with this conundrum.

10-14-10, 17:10
My M&P was sent off to S&W's Performance Center before Apex Tactical came into existence. As far as I can tell visually without full stripping, they changed out the sear (of course) and rounded off the striker block ala Glock trigger jobs. The feed ramp was also polished. I'm not sure what other parts were touched up as I didn't take a close look before sending it off over a year ago. It's actually light years beyond what the stock trigger felt like. Reset is much stronger compared to stock. I'm guessing the trigger is in the mid to high 4# range. I don't think they changed out any springs. To date I haven't had any stoppages based on the work/parts from S&W. Couldn't be happier.
Now had this been today, Apex of course with all the rave reviews.

JHC
10-14-10, 17:32
Deleted rant. What's the point? LOL

G34Shooter
10-14-10, 18:50
Maybe they will be working with Apex in the future ;)

milosz
10-14-10, 21:15
The M&P seems to be selling very well as-is - S&W probably sees no reason to mess with their cash cow.