PDA

View Full Version : Newby good distance AR

nynco
10-16-10, 00:07
Ok I am not a total newby. I have a few years behind an M16 when I was in the military. I also have been researching a lot.

I am looking for opinions as to which is a good option for me for an AR.

I see a lot of 16 inch barrels a few 18s and not so many 20s. I don't care about getting a 14in barrel it makes no sense for my needs. I plan on doing 3 gun competition some day in the future. I currently have 600 meter ranges I can practice on for distance shooting. I like to use iron sights out to 600 meters. It makes me really work to get better.

I am looking for an AR that can do both well. I know its 2 different things. I just don't want to buy a match grade 20 inch A2 clone. I want a rifle that has a decent picitany rail system. But one that is not so fat that it feels like the wrong end of a baseball bat with covers on. It also must be full free floating so using a sling will not pull the barrel.

I prefer to have a piston system. I really have my heart set on one. But if that is not the best path then so be it. I just hated how dirty the DI system was on my M16. The idea of shitting where you eat just always made no sense to me. I have heard both good and bad about them.

Now, I would be willing build my own. All the way from the level of parts to complete uppers. I am not afraid to build anything and have a talent for figuring out anything mechanical. But to me it seems like its more expensive sometimes to build than it is to buy complete. I do know in the future, I will be adding a lot of the mag pull accessories. So if I can get those stock it saves me in the long run.

I also seem to think the KAC BUIS seems to be the best for distance shooting. Mainly because I want one that flips but still has elevation adjustment. I just wish it had a dual hole setup. Does anyone know if it is a 1/4 turn MOA or 1/2? Or is there a better one out there?