PDA

View Full Version : Need a Bolt gun for S.W.A.T. application

Palehorse08
10-19-10, 17:55
Hey guys I have been tasked with finding the bolt gun for my dept. SWAT team as I am the DM for the team. I am a USMC vet so I am partial to the M40a3 but want to see what others are using in the LEO/competition realm. Any help or suggestions would be appreciated.

sdw308
10-19-10, 19:31
Alot of people have told me that Savage makes a good rifle especially with their Accutrigger. I prefer a Rem 700 action with one of Rock Creeks M24 barrels.

22_Shooter
10-19-10, 19:34
Alot of people have told me that Savage makes a good rifle especially with their Accutrigger. I prefer a Rem 700 action with one of Rock Creeks M24 barrels.

My roommate's and his co-workers use the Rem700 on their SWAT team. They seem to like it.

BobM
10-19-10, 19:37
How much do you want to spend?

I'm issued a Remington PSS/Leupold 3.5x10 and I have a Remington LTR with a similar scope. Both are good but I think I'd rather use the LTR on duty if I was allowed.

Palehorse08
10-19-10, 19:40
yea so far the plan is to build an m40a3 (Rem 700) but wanted to hear other thoughts/ideas. caliber can be anything but 5.56, even though I already have an SPR in that. They want "knock out" capabilities, but any true DM knows the 5.56 round has the capabilities of that.

Budget is undetermined, just have to get the team cmdr.'s blessing

sdw308
10-19-10, 19:42
How much do you want to spend?

I'm issued a Remington PSS/Leupold 3.5x10 and I have a Remington LTR with a similar scope. Both are good but I think I'd rather use the LTR on duty if I was allowed.

I've got $2k in my custom .308

Heidevolk
10-19-10, 19:47
.338 Lapua might be worth considering