PDA

View Full Version : Scope options for a SAM-R / SDM-R / SPR?

danpass
10-20-10, 17:05
I originally started off with a Bushnell 3200 10x with mildots.

The scope was ok overall but I'm looking for something different.

Two things I liked were the 1/4moa fingertip adjustments and mildots.

The ideal scope would be the Nightforce NXS 2.5-10 x 32 Compact but I'm not spending (yet lol) $1500 for JUST a scope.

So I'm at $300-$400 for a scope, either fixed 10x or adjustable like the NF.

Thanks.

Alex V
10-21-10, 10:51
Just started using the Nightforce 2.5-10x32 on my recent SPR build, I have nothing to compare it to since its my first scope but man is it nice. lol

What about the Nikon M-223 3-12 x42? It can come with a BDC for .223 as well and just over $400.

I have no experience with Nikon scopes but I use Nikon D-SLR's and lenses and their class is very very good.

Cobra66
10-21-10, 11:39
In that price range I'd take a good look at either the Leupold Mark AR series or the Nikon M-223 Series. Both are probably going to give you one of the best scopes for the money and both have reticles and BDCs calibrated for 5.56. SWAT magazine has reviewed both and has had positive things to say.

I just purchased a Mark AR 3x9 and while I have not shot it yet, it looks very nice. Main reason I didn't go with the Nikon is that this scope will be going on a .308 and I wanted a Mil Dot reticle.

I have also had good luck with my Burris Widefield 2x7 scope. They make a "tactical" version of this scope as well but I don't know exactly what the differences are. I like the Buriplex reticle (which is certainly good out the the range of the Mini14 it sits on), the glass is nice (not as nice as on my new Leupold though), and it didn't break the bank. This scope is made in the Philippines but is backed by Burris.

These may not come close to a nice Leupold Mark 4, NightForce or 1st Tier Euro scope, but they are not bottom feeding "hobbiest" scopes either.

DMR
10-21-10, 12:44