PDA

View Full Version : SCAR as precision rifle?

rob_s
10-25-10, 05:47
Any thoughts on this?

FNH USA SSR (http://www.fnhusa.com/mil/products/firearms/model.asp?fid=FNF065&gid=FNG020&mid=FNM0005)

http://www.fnhusa.com/support/images/dynamic/milm/FNM0005mb.png

Rated21R
10-25-10, 08:23
The reviews I have read have been pretty positive so far. Most users of the 17S (in just about every config.) are saying good things.

RAM Engineer
10-25-10, 12:42
I have no experience with the 7.62 SCARs, but my box-stock 16s with a chrome lined barrel is as accurate as any semi-auto I've ever fired. With a longer receiver or PWS rail extensions, I can see it excelling in the SPR role.

mkmckinley
10-25-10, 14:24
The MK17 is capable of surprising accuracy even with its relatively thin barrel. The Mk20 looks to have a thicker barrel and possibly other tweaks so I would expect it to shoot very well.

taliv
10-25-10, 19:22
i sighted in a friend's 4x ACOG and SCAR light from a bench this summer. I was surprised how well it shot. I was expecting much worse. Haven't even got to hold the heavy yet, but am looking forward to it.

From the pictures, that stock looks REALLY short. Even with the extended butt, it looks too short, and that thing looks like it would hang on everything. It also looks unbalanced. Balance is imho even more important in precision guns than in run 'n gun carbines. (yeah it doesn't matter shooting from your belly, but try holding on a target from sitting or kneeling for 5 minutes with a gun that's barrel-heavy, suppressed, or too light in the ass)

I like using either a bean bag or monopod under the stock when shooting prone, and it's not clear but doesn't look possible to do either.

308win from a 20" bbl isn't a fantastic recipe for "1000 yards and beyond" as advertised on the link you provided.