PDA

View Full Version : Thoughts on the HK P30?

JoshNC
10-26-10, 08:57
I am helping my brother pick out a "bump in the night" pistol for he and his wife and I am considering the HK P30. I have no personal experience with the P30, so I figured I would buy one myself to personally vet it first.

My brother is not at all a fan of Glocks; I tried to put him into a G19, but he does not like the way they shoot or fit his hand.

For those with actual experience on the P30, I much appreciate your thoughts on this pistol.

Entropy
10-26-10, 09:07
If your brother is picky, you should probably take him to a gun range and rent a couple of pistols to try out. The P30 is probably one of the most reliable and durable pistols on the market, but like all guns some people don't like the way they feel and handle.

Failure2Stop
10-26-10, 09:34
I have a *little* experience with the P30.
It has a lot of features I prefer in a pistol.

A 9mm P30 LEM V4 will be my next pistol purchase.

gtmtnbiker98
10-26-10, 09:49
I've ran them hard over the last couple of years, ~30,000-rounds through the six that I own. I would say your bigger question would be DA/SA V3 or LEM V1/V2/V4? Some hate the LEM while other's love it. I'm in the DA/SA camp and have shot TDA pistols for so long, anything else seems foreign. If they can overcome the first DA trigger pull then you are good to go.

Another question would be 9mm or .40?

d90king
10-26-10, 10:41
There is a LOT to like about the P30, however IMHO it also has a couple warts. One is easily remedied for a rather high price tag and that is the sights. The stock sights are awful and the replacements are expensive in my opinion. I think they run around $160 for a quality option and I believe there are only 2 on the market. Yes, Glock's need new ones also but there are many more options and are a bit less expensive for suitable replacements.