PDA

View Full Version : Suggestions for an all around general purpose 4"/mid-trainer boot?

gundam83
10-30-10, 18:08
I'm looking for a mid-trainer height (4") boot that is comfortable, not too heavy, and does not scream military/tacticool mall ninja. I would like to use it as a work boot (I work in a warehouse) and have it double as a range/training boot. Perhaps a hiking boot? That way I have other color options besides LEO black, or military desert. The 4" height is important because 6" is too high, and a low top is too low. I currently have a pair of black Oakley SI low tops and although they are extremely comfortable and lightweight, they dont offer enough ankle support, and I don't think they would fair well in a training class.

reccerecon
11-07-10, 14:07
You should check out uscav.com, they have the hiking boot styles that are used in the Stain, they are very well made. I belive thay have the Timberland model in brown that have adjustable insoles. I cant say for sure what hights they offer. USCAV can be pricey so if you find one you like look at some other websites first. You can always just buy a nice set of regular hiking boots too.

Spiffums
11-07-10, 16:54
I think Bates is who makes the hiker. I got a Galls catalog around here somewhere and saw them in it.

reccerecon
11-07-10, 17:27
I thought the Bates hiker had a higher ankle, either way Bates are real good boots.

kmrtnsn
11-07-10, 17:34
Go to KeenFootwear.com and look at their boots. I own two pair of boots, the Targhee and the lightweight ventilated Voyageur, two pair of sandals, and four pair of Keen street shoes. The are comfortable, don't scream tacticool and wear like iron. If you buy from Zappos.com they frequently do a free shipping deal and free shipping on returns if you have a size issue.

orionz06
11-07-10, 18:43
I just bought a pair of Vasque Switchbacks and they are pretty nice. They have a Vibram sole which is very desireable, they look like your run of the mill hiker.

JSantoro