PDA

View Full Version : Question

rwsorensen
10-31-10, 18:30
I built an M4 with a DPMS 16" heavy contour barrel. I am a Combat Arms Instructor in the AF, re barreling M4/M16's is something I do on a regular basis. The problem I have is that I cannot get it to zero with a BUIS. It shoots about a 12" to the right and 12" high, to move the front sight post down that far would mean taking it all the way out. anybody had this problem before? what would be the issue? It is a brand new barrel and it is only torqued to 42 FT LBS. Would switching the front sight post with a shorter one work? The rear sight is also an issue, with it pegged to the far left it still shoots 7" to the right. Thoughts?

MistWolf
10-31-10, 20:22
It shoots high & right at what range?

A shorter front site post will only make the problem worse. You move the front sight the opposite direction you want to move the point of impact.

Your FSB may be canted, or the barrel bent. This will cause your windage to be off. I've also heard stories that barrels can be cocked to one side if not properly installed.

Other possibilities lay in the BUIS themselves and how they mount to the rails. If the front sight is removable and not an FSB, the rail it mounts to could be cocked in relationship to the rail of the upper. Again, it could also be a problem with the detachable front sight itself

Hmac
10-31-10, 20:27
What kind of Front sight are you using? If it's an FSB, sounds like it might be canted when you reinstalled it. If it's rail mounted, maybe the rail was misaligned on the reinstall.

Eric D.
10-31-10, 22:12
If you're doing zeroing at 25 yards you shouldn't have trouble setting elevation. Since its way high I'd assume you're zeroing at a further distance in which case you should make sure you have the right height FSB.