PDA

View Full Version : What would you consider acceptable accuracy in home defense or SHTF situation?

gs013564
11-02-10, 23:14
If this is in the wrong forum, then I apologize in advance.

I am new to shooting in general and the AR platform in particular. I have been practicing on bullseye type targets, but I have been wondering what is considered acceptable in a real world scenario when it comes to accuracy. I am using the word accuracy in the sense of how tight I can get my groups around my point of aim (I am not that great of a shot... yet!).

I suppose another way of asking would be the inverse: When does accuracy start to be considered unacceptable for a real world self defense scenario? Obviously, the tighter the groups around my point of aim the better, but realistically what should I be striving for? I may be answering my own question, but I would think it would be at least the average size of a head or torso, depending on what I would actually be aiming for in a real life situation.

Sorry if this sounds extremely ignorant. I just don't have any buddies who I am able to bounce these questions off of.

g5m
11-02-10, 23:24
I think you have two different situations. Home defense is generally considered very close. The other could be close or potentially a lot further.
Anyway, it seems to me that you would want acceptable accuracy for longer shots. That will always translate into adequate close up accuracy.
What do you think is acceptable? An inch group at 100 yard.. min 5 preferably 10 shots. That's benchrest territory.
So, what's acceptable for you?
Ten rounds, I'd think 3"-5"-8" groups would be pretty darned good especially with iron sights.
JMO.

But, if you can, get your carbine tuned up and spend the money to take a carbine class or two from a good school/instructor. Your eyes will be opened a lot about shooting at paper vs. shooting in a simulated situation. Really.

Sensei
11-02-10, 23:25