PDA

View Full Version : Caracal pistols. BEWARE!

Edmond
11-04-10, 04:15
You better use eye protection. I heard this morning of a shooter who had a case flying straight to the eye like it happened to me. He was fortunately wearing protective goggles.

That came after I have had two calls from people who have tested the pistols they just received and experienced the same malfunctions I experienced with the batch of pistols I tested..

http://i192.photobucket.com/albums/z69/Quickload/Caracal/IMG_53641024.jpg

Entropy
11-04-10, 09:23
Interesting. I have no experience with the Caracal, but based on its design of shoving the bore axis as deep as possible into the frame like the Steyr M-series I'm guessing the extractor design is similar. I have quite a bit of experience with the Steyr, and since the extractor has to be canted up into the ejection port it can sometimes stick when the pistol is dirty(rubs harder against the slide), and it can fling casings upward and to the rear.

Alpha Sierra
11-04-10, 09:38
ANSI Z87-2 impact resistant polycarbonate lenses are your friend.

gtmtnbiker98
11-04-10, 10:04
I'll beware the entire product line.

Edmond
11-04-10, 10:08
Interesting. I have no experience with the Caracal, but based on its design of shoving the bore axis as deep as possible into the frame like the Steyr M-series I'm guessing the extractor design is similar. I have quite a bit of experience with the Steyr, and since the extractor has to be canted up into the ejection port it can sometimes stick when the pistol is dirty(rubs harder against the slide), and it can fling casings upward and to the rear.

5 brand new pistols out of the box I tested plus 3 other cases I heard of within the last 48 hours....

JodyH
11-04-10, 11:47
ANSI Z87-2 impact resistant polycarbonate lenses are your friend.
That's fine on the range.
Might be an issue at 3am when you hear your backdoor being kicked in.