PDA

View Full Version : first AR build/ precision build

jared91
11-06-10, 19:45
hi guys, im new to the AR scene, and im wantin to build my very first AR. i have my buttstock and lower reciever picked out, (ace soccom and spikes tactical, with a timnney single stage trigger) but i would like some advice on what other parts i should go with. my main concerns are:
1. budget (freshman in college) lets go with 1300 reasonably.
2. reliability and function (i dont want a super super finnicky high maintanence rifle)
3. caliber. 5.56 or .308? are multi cal lowers able to fire 556 and 308 if you change the uppers out?
4. barrel brand and length. i THINK i want a 22 inch.
5. optics.

any and all suggestions will be appreciated. im lookin for somethin i can reach out to to 500+ yds if applicable with above guidelines. thanks for all your help guys!

Meplat
11-06-10, 23:03
First off, welcome to M4C! Second, for your budget and build, I would skip out on the ACE stock and just go with a regular carbine receiver extension and a simpler, cheaper stock. It will save you money on your build overall, and frankly I'm not too big of a fan of that particular stock as it limits your options and configurations for other stocks, slings, etc. I also suggest you stick to a regular trigger before you unnecessarily upgrade to any fancy match trigger. Find out how well you shoot with a normal trigger and thoroughly learn and practice trigger control before anything else and only then should you look at upgrades. That by itself will make a world of improvement in your shooting long before any trigger will. The skill and experience of a shooter dictate the quality of his shooting long before his gear ever will. If you don't have the fundamentals and experience before the fancy gear, you're wasting your money in my opinion.