View Full Version : S&W M&P15 MOE

gr7070
11-11-10, 15:26
I'm brand new to ARs and have been doing a great deal of research.

I'm looking for a quality AR, but also one that's relatively inexpensive. It's looking like S&W fills that bill pretty well, especially the MOE model.

I'm open to any and all suggestions, S&W related or others.

Also, specifically regarding the S&W M&P15 MOE is there anything I need to know about this AR that might not be completely obvious to a newb.

One item might be the front sight.
1. If I want the front sight out of the eventual red dot "picture" I need to replace it with a flip up, correct?
2. It appears I'd need to buy some kind of a mounting rail just for the front sight. Is that correct?

I have looked at the M4chart and read a bunch of FAQs, etc. so pretty much any info aside from those would add to my knowledge.

Much thanks in advance!

ForTehNguyen
11-11-10, 15:32
you dont have to replace the front sight. With a reddot it will just be cowitnessed with the front sight. If you dont like it in the way you can either do a lower 1/3 cowitness where you put a riser under the red dot so the red dot will be above the front sight. Or you get a freefloat rail system with a flip front sight

glockkid88
11-11-10, 16:38
I recently purchased my first ar and one of the rifles I looked at was a M&P15MOE. In my area It cost around $1050 and then the salesman (a friend of mine) told me to look at the Daniel Defense m4. It cost $1250 and is a better base rifle, and comes with a lot of good accessories including the 12 inch rail. I am sure that the DDM4 is one of the most economical ar platforms on the market. Also you can get one with out the front sight post and a full length rail to mount buis on.

ucrt
11-11-10, 17:08

There are a couple of version of the M&P 15 MOE:
- One online at S&W has a FSB and Folding MBUS.
- One from Cabelas does not have any sights and the Gas Block is the same height as the receiver.