PDA

View Full Version : M&P: Do they all need upgrades?

SpookyPistolero
11-14-10, 20:28
Howdy folks-

I'm thinking of selling a piece I own and may get an M&P9 to take its place. I need the skinny on how necessary the Apex upgrades are to the reliability and 'shootability' of this platform. Or put another way, is it necessary to order one with all the work done by Grant, or should I be good to go with one out of the box? I don't care to pay a bit more for quality, but if I can do it with less I'd be happy. I just don't have any tolerance for malfunctions.

And part two: If the Apex upgrades really are that necessary, which ones on the list of options through G&R Tactical are needed, or are they all?

Thanks much-

dvdlpzus
11-14-10, 20:42
I am no gun expert at all but reliability wise no. If you want a lighter trigger then Apex is a good choice. I am not a very good shooter, therefore a lighter trigger does make a difference for my confidence. When I shoot DCAEK vs. STOCK I don't see that big of a difference on paper targets.

Palmguy
11-14-10, 20:48
The benefit of the Apex kit isn't really a reduced pull weight, it's an overall improvement in the quality of the pull. M&Ps out of the box can have a sort of crunchy trigger pull that the Apex sear and particularly the striker block really rectify. In my opinion of course...

MarshallDodge
11-14-10, 20:49
Mine is pretty much stock. I have done a few things to reduce takeup and overtravel but the trigger is still pretty much the stock weight.

It was a little gritty at first but after several hundred rounds and a little lube on the contact points it smoothed out.

beastfrog
11-14-10, 20:59
is it necessary to order one with all the work done by Grant, or should I be good to go with one out of the box? I don't care to pay a bit more for quality, but if I can do it with less I'd be happy. I just don't have any tolerance for malfunctions.