PDA

View Full Version : S&B 1.5-6 with 6.8 at the range with pics

ccoker
11-14-10, 20:39
Spent some time out today testing the S&B 1.5-6×42 Zenith Flashdot #9
This is a scope I have been lusting after for several years for my 6.8
Ultra clear glass, perfect power range for a hunting 6.8, cross between a German #4 and an Eotech reticle with a circle around the center crosshair intersection and a dot that illuminates. My experience with most scopes that anything more than a dot is too much for actual hunting.
The scope has a standard thin reticle in the center and when you turn on the illumination, a red dot becomes protected onto the crosshair centers.
So many scopes have a black dot, say 1 MOA in the center that becomes lit up.
That’s fine at 100 yards but that dot becomes 3″ at 300, fine I guess for quick COM shots, but takes away the real precision of a gun that will shoot tighter groups than that. My test platform is one of those guns, a Wilson Combat 6.8 with an 18 medium weight stainless barrel and a match grade single stage trigger from WC.
It shoots .5 with my hand loads of Barnes 95g TTSX and about 1MOA with whatever else I feed it, not the least bit finicky.

We were at the Best of the West range in Liberty Hill, just outside of Austin.
It’s a fantastic new range offering 50, 100, 250, 500, 750 and 1K ranges
Not just punching paper, but moving and self resetting targets by AR15Targets and Larue, both local companies.. cool.

I did a quick sight in at 500 and 100 then moved over to the 250 yard bench and started doing head shots on the Larue resetting target.
It’s 11″ wide and I would guess the head is about 4″ wide and 4″ tall
With my 200 yard zero I should be running about 8″ low at 300 and 4 at 250.

We just put the x on the top center of the head and both my handloads and SSA factory 115 OTM were connecting everytime in about a 10-15mph crosswind.
No hold into the wind was needed.