PDA

View Full Version : Location preference for rear sling mount

bdoub1eu
11-16-10, 09:36
Guys, new to the AR platform and just wanted your opinion. Picked up the DDM4 V5 last week and was wanting to know your preference for a rear sling mount? The DDM4 that I bought came with the rear QD swival attachment point but I can also attach to the rear buttstock (Magpul stock). What do you guys prefer? Sorry, if this is a newbie question but...Hey, I'm a newbie.

devilsdeeds
11-16-10, 10:43
I prefer using the outside qd socket on the stock myself, so I dont choke myself on weak side transitions but try them all and use whatever works best for you.

Eric D.
11-16-10, 11:03
I like the Noveske end plate with the QD swivel mount. it brings the rifle up a little closer to my chest so it doesn't hang so low with a one-point.

D. Christopher
11-16-10, 13:23
Magpul ASAP gives me the most flexibility for ambi shooting but they're not for everyone. I think they're great.

11-16-10, 13:29
You will have to answer this question yourself through shakedowns in training classes. Everyone is different and it may even change for you as you evolve. Pick a place, shake it down in a class, and see if it works. What works for me may not work for you. In a class you'll see slings mounted a variety of ways.

The_War_Wagon
11-16-10, 15:39
I'm partial to the Tactical Link Z360 QD mount. If your castle nut is properly staked especially, the Tactical Link mount requires no gunsmithing - no UN-staking! :cool:

DaBears_85
11-16-10, 16:18
Well as mentioned above, it's completely subjective to the end-user, but I think you'll find that the majority of folks prefer using the endplate as a rear-attachment point. Having said that, I'm a huge fan of the IKH SLAP (http://ikickhippies.com/slap/).

yellowv
11-16-10, 17:14
I like an endplate mount, but it is all about what works best for YOU.

lethal dose
11-16-10, 17:22