PDA

View Full Version : drawbacks of using a 1-4x as an RDS substitute

pilotguyo540
11-22-10, 13:08
I am hell bent on getting a TR-24G but I keep lusting over an aimpoint. :rolleyes: The related threads over the last day or so really have me thinking.

Part of my intended use for this rifle is HD. People and animals are on the possible list of bad guy's. I am positive that the trijicon is the best compromise, BUT.....

Are there any major drawbacks to using the TR-24 as an RDS? My main concerns being cheek wield and parallax.

Any other thoughts are appreciated too (except anything related to the search function)

glockshooter
11-22-10, 13:57
I have both optics you are considering. I have extensive experience with the Aimpoint. I have also used it with my 3x magnifier extensively. I have only been shooting my TR24R for about 2 months now, so I have limited experience with it. I do however really like it.

The TR24 is not parallax free as you pointed out, but I have not noticed a huge parallax problem in unconventional positions like rollover prove and the like. There is a slight magnification at close distances on 1x, but not really a problem.

If I could only have one I would let my intended use make the decision. If it is only a short range gun, then I would go Aimpoint all the way. If I was going to be shooting at any distance over 100 then the TR24 would be my choice.

In my mind the only real down side of the TR24 scope with the triangle reticle is targets over 300. It is a little hard to judge holdover because the reticle is so think.

Matt

jasonhgross
11-22-10, 14:48
For me, the added weight was unacceptable compared to the T-1. If you are coming from a heavier RDS, you may be ok.

Crow Hunter
11-22-10, 15:38
I am hell bent on getting a TR-24G but I keep lusting over an aimpoint. :rolleyes: The related threads over the last day or so really have me thinking.