PDA

View Full Version : 14.5" vs 16" Midlength

Seagrave7
11-23-10, 16:40
Which is better and why?

Cameron
11-23-10, 17:29
Neither is better unless you are after a specific goal to accomplish.

What would be the purpose for your new AR?

Cameron

royal_fox
11-23-10, 17:36
I prefer the 14.5" a tad bit lighter with the light weight han guard and still has good accuracy.

Seagrave7
11-23-10, 17:46
Goal = build a light weight Midlength to use in classes. My current and only 16" carbine AR is definitely not light but by no means heavy and I have been contemplating a lighter build for many months now.

With that said, the idea of a 14.5" with a perm muzzle device sounds like a great build on paper and from what others have written as reviews. The issue I am going back and forth on is that a 14.5" does not allow me to adjust handguards nor muzzle devices easily down the road. And I am one to try new products. As I've read from many others it seems the 14.5" middy is very nice and soft to shoot. But is it really that much different then the 16" middy? Any factual information between the two?

Mega
11-23-10, 19:14
Goal = build a light weight Midlength to use in classes. My current and only 16" carbine AR is definitely not light but by no means heavy and I have been contemplating a lighter build for many months now.

With that said, the idea of a 14.5" with a perm muzzle device sounds like a great build on paper and from what others have written as reviews. The issue I am going back and forth on is that a 14.5" does not allow me to adjust handguards nor muzzle devices easily down the road. And I am one to try new products. As I've read from many others it seems the 14.5" middy is very nice and soft to shoot. But is it really that much different then the 16" middy? Any factual information between the two?

Having said all that... and since you stated you wanted a lightweight rifle, why not go SBR?

Seagrave7
11-23-10, 19:17