PDA

View Full Version : New Pistol Questions

okie john
11-30-10, 18:29
First post.

I appreciate the professionalism I see here. Most other boards seem to have been created of, by, and for people who care more about one brand or design than they do about winning fights. I like not seeing that here.

Now, on to my questions.

I’m a seasoned shooter, but I’m old-school: I started shooting 1911’s as a kid, I was an 18C for six years on ODA’s in 1st SFG(A) and 7th SFG(A), and I’ve taken deer and other game with magnum revolvers. I stopped following the pistol market after I got my current 1911 dialed in about 15 years ago. It’s getting a little tired and I have a birthday coming up, so I’m buying myself a new EDC pistol, holster, belt, light, spare mags, 2-3 cases of ammo for train-up, and the train-up itself. Once the train-up is done, the Colt goes into war stock and I stick with the new piece—no daily back-and-forth.

Total budget is $3-4k, starting with renting guns at local ranges, but I want to cut the non-starters up front, so I’m seeking opinions. Thus far, I’m thinking:
• One trigger pull: SAO, DAO, or striker-fired
• Night sights, maybe upgrading to red-dot sights later
• Factory rail
• No bigger/heavier than a 1911A1
• Caliber?
• Probably a polymer frame

As near as I can tell, the makers worth considering are HK, Glock, the S&W M&P series, and maybe Springfield. I’d also consider a new 1911 or upgrading my current 1911.

Have I overlooked anything?

Thank you in advance for your time and opinions, and thank you again for the professionalism. It really is a breath of fresh air.

Okie John

kaltesherz
11-30-10, 18:52
What's the purpose of this new handgun? Meaning is this for CCW, bedside, or secondary for carbine class?