PDA

View Full Version : Strongest 12"ish "tube" HG???

GhostB14
12-03-10, 18:05
Who has the strongest tube 12"ish HG? JP,VTAC,BHI, PRI? If you were building a rifle tonight for going to battle in some far away hell-hole tomorrow who's tube would you use if tube style was your only option? I want to put together a lite tube style upper that will last for my kids, their kids, ect. Price need not be factored in. Needs to be 11"-13"

Thank You
Patrick Scott

Belmont31R
12-03-10, 19:20
LaRue, DD or KAC in no particular order.

outrider627
12-03-10, 20:11
LaRue, DD or KAC in no particular order.

None of those companies make the handguard type he's looking for. He wants a tube style handguard like the Troy TRX not a regular quad rail.

OP, I have no experience with tube style handguards, but the PRI free float tube handguard was standard on the Navy's Mk 12 SPR.

aflin
12-03-10, 20:22
VTAC and Troys are tough as nails...I would not hesitate going into combat with them

cop1211
12-03-10, 21:25
VTAC and Troys are tough as nails...I would not hesitate going into combat with them

The PRI tubes have been there.

Boss Hogg
12-03-10, 21:48
I like the small diameter of the Troy VTAC, but Blackheart's is unquestionably more robust.

Biggy
12-03-10, 21:55
I'm liking the 12" Apex handguard on my Recce. It mounts to the stock barrel nut , is light, has a small OD , is well vented, has machined in grip texturing, sling swivel receptacles and good rigidity. I believe LWRCI will also have their SPR mini REPR handguard available to purchase after SHOT. Besides being the best feeling handguard I have ever held, its a two piece design with an excellent attachment method, sling swivel receptacles and with bolt on rail sections. I believe my quad rail days may be over.

cop1211
12-04-10, 01:52
I'm trying to resist getting another upper with either the PRI or the Blackheart tube.

Rln_21
12-04-10, 04:32