PDA

View Full Version : best .223 ammo for my AR-15

richard91577
12-14-10, 21:33
I'm new to shooting a AR-15 rifle and needing little help. I just got my new DPMS AR-15 rifle. I hand it for about two weeks now and not a single round thur it. Has a 16" barrel and 1and 9 twist. I'm plaining on playing around up to 200 yards right now. Once I get some more money looking about butting a scope on it and shooting longer range. So I'm just wondering what is the best grain weight for it and brand to shoot thur it. From the cheapest and to the highest. Just wondering wanting to buy a case and not wanting to buy something thats not going to fire will and jam up on me and thanks for you help.

bkb0000
12-14-10, 22:03
start with cheap bulk ammo.. learn to shoot it. then you'll know where to go from there..

good bulk brass-
federal AE xm193 (apparently on sale for $60/200 at bi-mart right now, if you have those)
winchester q3131
wolf 55gr. FMJ
anything else you can find

nothing will hurt your gun, and you won't be able to out-shoot any of this stuff any time soon.

ETA- on second though, DPMS is notorious for having tight chambers- in light of that, i'd either steer clear of steel-cased ammo (like wolf) or expect to learn to do some stuck-case extraction drills.

Eric D.
12-14-10, 22:10
Any bullet weight up to 69gr with a 1/9 any heavier and you may have issues with bullets not stabilizing. Check out the PMC ammo on cabelas or Palmetto State Armory.

richard91577
12-15-10, 07:04
I was told 60 and up would have a hard time stabilizing with a 1 and 9 twist and was just wondering if thats right or not. So thats what I'm trying to find out what is a good round to shoot

royta
12-15-10, 07:20
federal AE xm193 (apparently on sale for $60/200 at bi-mart right now, if you have those)

I miss Bi-Mart like crazy. I wonder if I still have my card from when I used to live just outside Yreka, CA or in Oregon.

Gutshot John
12-15-10, 07:36