PDA

View Full Version : What's Your Opinion on PMags.

Wormydog1724
12-17-10, 16:34
I have been shooting AR's for 5 years, and just started shooting in local matches (3 gun, practical rifle, action rifle) a year and a half ago. I have only ever used PMAGS and have never had a single issue with mine. Although for a test I did drop a loaded pmag from the second story of my house onto concrete to see what would happen, it split down the side and spewed most of the rounds out. The pmag was still operable when inserted into my weapon but holding the rounds out of the weapon was nearly impossible. Anyways I've never had real world issues with my pmags.

So today I go into a local gunshop that has a few AR's and a SIG 556 with a pmag in it on the wall. I ask the guy behind the counter if they sell pmags. He's a short stocky guy with an American flag tactical hat, 5.11 pants, and some patch on the back of the hat that I'm sure was vulgar and funny although I never got a chance to read it. He asked me why I wanted pmags, I stated because that is what I shoot with. He then asked why, I said because I like them and have never had a problem with them. He asked if I have ever been over seas and used one and I said no. He said there's your problem. Well I asked what his experience with them was and he said that he was in Afghanistan and was one of the first units to test them and said he dropped one from waist high and it split and spewed rounds. I said I had the same thing happen but from my second story window. He then said all he runs are HK metal mags and tried to sell a package of 10 regular metal mags to me (which were priced the same as a usual pmag). I declined. He then kept talking about 50 cals and silencers and 5 inch barrels on AR's and yada yada yada.

Now I'm no expert and don't pretend to be. I know what I know and I am eager to learn at any chance somebody has experience and knowledge of something that I don't.