PDA

View Full Version : People, in general, really are oblivious to their surroundings.

jaydoc1
12-19-10, 18:58
First off, this is not a concealed carry versus an open carry thread. It's an observation about how people really don't take stock of their surroundings the way they should. Also, it's a good example of how people that fret over printing while carrying concealed really are worrying about something for nothing (in most cases, I know there are exceptions to everything).

Today, my wife, myself, and our two girls went with another couple to eat and then to see a movie. I've been carrying concealed for almost four years now and I would challenge anyone that didn't specifically know that I'm carrying to pick up on it. I've tailored my dress and carry method for almost any situation so that something would have to go terribly wrong for someone to see my pistol. I assumed that the husband of the couple we were out with was also carrying so I was very surprised to see him take off his jacket in the restaurant with only a tucked-in t-shirt underneath. Sure enough, there was his 5" 1911 right on his hip in plain sight for all to see.

Now Colorado is an open-carry legal state so he was well within his rights, I just always have been more comfortable not having everyone around knowing I'm armed. I grinned at him and said, "Not worried about anyone seeing that?" He answered, "Nope. I'm hot and it's legal anyway." Again this isn't a concealed versus open carry thread. What was amazing to me is that we were sitting in the center of the room with probably 30 people around us (including multiple wait staff) and I carefully observed them throughout the meal. Not one person ever took notice of the full-sized 1911 in plain view for at least 45 minutes. At the end of the meal he stood up, put on his jacket and we all walked out without anyone ever having noticed his weapon. He repeated this show in the movie theater without anyone noticing again.