PDA

View Full Version : Question about Triggers >>>

dj_dub
12-21-10, 11:59
A family member of mine advised that I should change the trigger in my combat rifle from the Timney Trigger to just a "standard/regular" trigger.

Here's the exact trigger I currently have installed in my combat rifle:

http://www.midwayusa.com/viewProduct/?productNumber=564523

He didn't really explain why. So now I'm left confused. :confused: Why would it be more benefical for me if I had a standard/regular type trigger opposed to a match/competition type trigger in a combat rifle? I'm still pretty new to this whole AR thing, so any and all input is greatly appreciated! :cool:

Pic of my rifle for reference:

http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5289/5247544767_c5b3dbc80c_b.jpg

rsgard
12-21-10, 13:12
ive seen several people on this forum suggest the basic trigger for a combat rifle or self def rifle. I inferred it was for reliability issues but if there is something else im also curious to know

Skyyr
12-21-10, 13:27
ive seen several people on this forum suggest the basic trigger for a combat rifle or self def rifle. I inferred it was for reliability issues but if there is something else im also curious to know

That's correct. Complex, two-stage and/or adjustable accuracy-oriented triggers = more parts and more points of failure. Stick with standard GI triggers from a quality LPK. The only non-GI triggers you'll see referenced here for combat/self-defense rifles are Geissele triggers, primarily the SSA.

MistWolf
12-21-10, 16:11
That's correct. Complex, two-stage and/or adjustable accuracy-oriented triggers = more parts and more points of failure. Stick with standard GI triggers from a quality LPK. The only non-GI triggers you'll see referenced here for combat/self-defense rifles are Geissele triggers, primarily the SSA.

How is an AR two stage trigger more complex? Do they have an added sear or link?

I only question that two stage triggers are more complicated, not adjustable triggers