PDA

View Full Version : Help, please, with LaRue Tactical pivot mount for optics behind Aimpoint CompM4

ursavus.elemensis
08-16-07, 20:15
Question about mating an Aimpoint CompM4 red dot sight with a LaRue Tactical pivot mount for a magnifying optic:

Background:
I have a Bushmaster AR-15, M4A3. I have the Surefire quad rails. The top rail sits about an eighth of an inch below the rail on the top of the receiver of the rifle.

Question:
I got an Aimpoint CompM4 red dot site. See picture from their web site below. I wanted a magnification unit, so I bought the very cool LaRue Tactical pivot mount (http://stores.homestead.com/Laruetactical/Detail.bok?no=131) to ultimately be able to use the Aimpoint 3x magnifier, but temporarily I am using a 2.5x magnifying optic that LaRue is selling. Please note this is NOT a complaint or a question about that 2.5x optic.

This picture, from the LaRue Tactical website, shows the very cool LaRue pivot mount for optics. It is NOT a picture of my set up. It is a picture of a very well-made, very cool option for your AR.
http://stores.homestead.com/Laruetactical/catalog/pivani.gif

With the pivot mount just to the rear of the Aimpoint CompM4 sight, with both of them on the rail above the receiver, the center axis of the LaRue Tactical mount (and optic) is about a quarter inch above the optical center axis of the Aimpoint CompM4 red dot sight. Looking through the optic and sight moves the red dot up higher off the front iron sight of the rifle (without the optic, the red dot is right on the front iron site center post). This is a picture of my set up:
http://www.pafoa.org/forum/imagehosting/226246c4f5c950598.jpg

Moving the Aimpoint CompM4 to the top rail of the barrel (Surefire) moves the red dot another eighth of an inch down, and now the center axis of the LaRue Tactical optic mount is about 3/8 inch above the center axis of the red dot sight. Here's a picture of my set up: