PDA

View Full Version : Need Help Deciding.

FiveOh417
12-26-10, 07:39
Howdy folks, first post but avid reader. Anyhow, I'm a Police Officer here in good ol' California. However, California is the kiss of death when it comes to anything with a grip and a bullet.

Recently my agency has approved three AR's we can purchase for duty use. 1.) Colt 2.) Bushmaster and 3.) Smith and Wesson. After reading a lot I pretty much narrowed it down to Smith and Wesson. I like the Smith and Wesson M&P15T, or the Smith and Wesson VTAC. I like the VTAC a lot, but it’s pretty pricey and I haven’t been able to read a lot of reviews on it. Plus there is new model that supposed to be coming out, but no set date.

I was curious to see what others opinions were on the subject. Obviously when you name those three brands its like saying, "What’s better, Ford, Chevrolet or Dodge?"
Getting an AR in California isn’t easy so I’m jumping at the opportunity. I just want to make the right decision before purchasing because I’ll be stuck with this one for a while. My needs are pretty simple. I work for a busy city and most likely will just be using some version of red dot (eotech or aimpoint).

So, if you were a copper, and to depended on one AR for patrol. Which of the three would you recommend? Thanks in advance for your time and hopefully I posted this in the appropriate thread.

pilotguyo540
12-26-10, 07:46
If I was a Cop here in Cali, I would go Colt and never look back. I want one and can't have one because I am not LE. Colt is the gold standard to which all others are judged by. Of your 3 choices, it is the best option. Smith and wesson is solid in second place. Bushmaster is a very distant third.

pilotguyo540
12-26-10, 07:52
Start here : https://www.m4carbine.net/showthread.php?t=6642

And welcome to M4C;)

GermanSynergy
12-26-10, 07:52
Of the 3 choices, I'd suggest going with the Colt.

RAM Engineer
12-26-10, 08:01
Colt, then S&W, then Bushamster.