PDA

View Full Version : Bringing SBR to a Gunshow

Heavyweight
12-27-10, 15:34
Good Afternoon Gentlemen,

I'm new to the forum and new to the world of NFA. I've been shooting the AR platform for about 10 years now and I've just submitted my first Form 1 for an SBR.

My question is (once I get my stamp and build my SBR) do any of you guys have problems bringing your items into gunshows? I don't have any intention of ever selling my SBR in that venue but I do like to bring my gear when I'm shopping for accessories and whatnot. There's nothing like having your weapon available to try on all the goodies so you can see immediately if it's going to be a goat **** or not. Obviously I'll have to have a copy of my Form 1 and stamp. And maybe I'm just a little paranoid being new to NFA items. Feels like every cop and "G-Man" is going to be eyeballing me and saying, "Papers Please"! Even in the gun friendly state of Texas.....I know it's mostly my imagination.

Wanted to also say thanks to all of you regular posters. I got everything I needed on this forum for my Form 1 submission and trust setup.

Be safe!

Heavyweight

WEC
12-27-10, 15:51
I have brought my SBR to gun shows before for that exact intended purpose of seeing how accessories would work with it. It has never been a problem, and not once has anyone asked to look at my paperwork. I think it all boils down to how you present yourself. I come to gun shows very cleanly dressed, and I am a low-key person. If I came in with my jeans around my ankles and tattoos on my neck I may be asked to present some paperwork.

Ilove2shoot
12-27-10, 19:49