PDA

View Full Version : front sight adjustment tool?

twodogs
01-07-11, 11:13
I am new to the AR platform, so please forgive my ignorance.

Do you need a "sight adjustment tool" for the front sight of an AR, or can you use something else to make adjustments?

Thanks in advance!

- FWIW - I tried searching, but I kept receiving error messages from the site.

JSantoro
01-07-11, 11:47
Use a nail, or the tip of the bullet on an unexpended round, or a nail-punch, or a dental pick, or......

That said, a purpose-made front sight adjuster is damned nice to have. Don't think of it as a requirement, though.

One example of many onthe market. http://www.bravocompanyusa.com/SearchResults.asp?Search=front+sight+tool

twodogs
01-07-11, 11:50
Thanks for the prompt response!

Skang
01-07-11, 14:45
It would be easier, if you have proper tool.

But, It's pretty much one time thing. You can use sharp edge to press the pin and use back of pencil eraser to turn it.

TriumphRat675
01-07-11, 15:14
After a frustrating afternoon trying to use an unfired round instead of a dedicated tool, I'd say the tool is worth the $11.

Joeywhat
01-07-11, 15:21
If I forget my sight tool I usually use a small pair of needle nose pliers. Not as quick as the tool, but MUCH quicker then jamming a bullet in their.

ssracer
01-07-11, 15:38
I use a pair of thin needle nose pliers

pilotguyo540
01-07-11, 16:32
The bullet works, but it does suck. I prefer my handy dandy pocket screwdriver. You won't need to change your front sight height often (if ever) after you initially dial it in, so pass on the tool if money is tight.

Gombey
01-07-11, 17:12
I'm excited, I can actually contribute to the board....kind of...

IMO get the tool, I had to use a nail and the fore mentioned unspent round during basic. It sucked, a D.S had the tool. It was amazing how much easier it made adjusting the sight. I have a Gerber multi-tool on order

JSantoro
01-07-11, 18:02