PDA

View Full Version : Effective Range of 16"BBL .308?

NightFighter
08-26-07, 12:28
I was wondering if anyone knows the effective (ability to knock down a BG)range of a 16" bbl .308 rifle? I am trying to decide if I need one .308 rifle or an SBR and a .308 Rifle. :(

DRich
08-26-07, 14:29
Depends on the ammo, the rifle and the shooter. I've got a 16" .308 benchrest rifle that will put five 168gr handloads into a 6" circle at 600yds when I do everything right...and I'm still learning. Put those rounds into a BG's head/COM and I'm sure he'll be out of the fight for a while.

As with any of these sorts of scenarios, shot placement is more important than caliber.

C4IGrant
08-26-07, 15:33
As you know, there is no magic bullet. It is really about shot placement. The 308 has its place, but not as a home defense weapon IMHO. It is better designed to be a battle rifle and not a CQB weapon.

So if your trying to decide on what to use for home defense, go with an AR chambered in 556.

C4

SHIVAN
08-26-07, 15:34
Quentin Tarantino style? :rolleyes:

It will probably poke holes in people out to 700yds or so...

NightFighter
08-26-07, 16:01
As you know, there is no magic bullet. It is really about shot placement. The 308 has its place, but not as a home defense weapon IMHO. It is better designed to be a battle rifle and not a CQB weapon.

So if your trying to decide on what to use for home defense, go with an AR chambered in 556.

C4
Thanks for your answer. That is what I was trying to decide. Also I was curious as to what my next weapon should be after a home defense weapon?

DRich
08-26-07, 16:54
Also I was curious as to what my next weapon should be after a home defense weapon?

That's kinda like asking another man what shoes you should buy next. Everyone has different needs and one size does not fit all. Do you want a plinker? Varmint rifle? Big-game rifle? Compact pistol? Big bore revolver? Rimfire? Shotgun?

CarlosDJackal
09-03-07, 14:21