PDA

View Full Version : Addax Polygonal upper

deadon57
01-19-11, 08:58
I noticed that Addax has a nice Stainless Steel upper. Instead of standard rifling, it uses Polygonal groove rifling. What's the skinny on this type of rifling? I'm in the market for a top tier upper.

Pax
01-19-11, 13:26
Polygonal rifling extends the life of the barrel and marginally increases average muzzle velocities, (in turn, marginally increasing the round's effect on target and accuracy). It also makes for a slightly thicker barrel as the "grooves," or "valleys" as they may be called in polygonal rifling, are not as deep as traditional grooves. It is also easier to clean.

Not a bad choice at all for a barrel. A Stainless Steel barrel will provide you excellent accuracy, however there are conflicting reports as to their life expectancy and I really cant speak on that point since I'm no expert on the subject. That being said, Chrome-Moly barrels have been getting the job done quite well for decades.. But if you want to get something fancy, go ahead and get SS, I'm not stopping you. I doubt that you will outlast the barrel, whichever you choose.

Other decent barrel sets to look into are the Rainer Arms UltraMatch, (Ratchet-rifled, an excellent type of rifling), any BCM barrel (they button rifle 410 Stainless barrels...), Noveske's Stainless line, (they claim its polygonal, however I believe it's actually a hybrid type of rifling), and any Daniel Defense CHF or White Oak barrel. The UltraMatch series feature Wylde Chambers and some BCMs feature similar chambers built to USMC SAM-R specifications. Once in a blue moon the Wylde apparently has issues, no word on the SAM-R's reliability that I've heard. I know these are a lot of options, but the good news is that whatever you choose, I'm sure it will perform just fine.

deadon57
01-19-11, 14:35