PDA

View Full Version : Martial Arts for Children?

Buckaroo
01-19-11, 14:57
I have an 8yr old daughter who is interested in martial arts training.

I have no background or knowledge in this area but am interested to help her pursue this urge. She is quite athletic and plays soccer at the club level.

Where do I start (other than the phone book).

What would be good for a young child and would be able to hold her interest for a number of years?

What should I avoid? What are the traps in this type of training/sport?

Thanks in advance!

Buckaroo

panzerr
01-19-11, 20:14
Hello. I am a shodon in Matsumura Kenpo. I helped teach the kids class at our dojo in Northern MN for a year or so before I moved out of town and on with my life. I would encourage you to get your daughter into a style at a small, not for profit dojo or a community ed class. I would suggest staying away from for profit dojos as in my experience these are the dojos that tend to encourage their members to put their sights only on obtaining a 'black belt' instead of what really matters -learning the discipline required to put you on the road to mastering your own body and mind. Check your community education booklet and find someone that teaches their year in and year out and doesn't have any affiliation with a for profit dojo.

obucina
01-19-11, 21:14
I started at 8 in American Kenpo. My mom found a small dojo run by an instructor whom I still talk to, 21 years later! He runs a specific schedule for children and is very good with them.

There are a few "chain" dojos in town that remind me of the Randy Couture/American Top Team places..as they literally are black belt factories...just a thought.

panzerr
01-19-11, 21:20
There are a few "chain" dojos in town that remind me of the Randy Couture/American Top Team places..as they literally are black belt factories...just a thought.