PDA

View Full Version : Best stock for Balance?

Cvolin85
01-20-11, 17:56
I'm a first time AR15 builder. and I'm building a 14.5" build with a 12+ FF tube. I've heard the UBR is better for this setup. But I'm not much for the looks is there something compairable?

Felix
01-20-11, 18:00
Check out the VLTOR EMOD, the LMT SOPMOD, and the Magpul ACS.

Cvolin85
01-20-11, 18:17
Check out the VLTOR EMOD, the LMT SOPMOD, and the Magpul ACS.

Thanks man!

Icculus
01-20-11, 18:41
Maybe this helps some

http://www.03designgroup.com/technotes/ar15-buttstock-considerations

Cvolin85
01-20-11, 19:33
Maybe this helps some

Thanks man! that was actually very helpful. But It does't say anything about a 14.5" Midlength? or does that matter?

I'm doing a 14.5" Midlength with a 12.37" Samson Evo FF rail. I see the rail is somewhat lighter then others so will the Emod work for this in your opinion? Because I'm really digging the Emod stock, But I want that balance if ya know what I mean.

Thanks for your help with the Link. I've got to send that to a few guys I know with Goofy setups. (ACS on a 18" midlength w/13.2" Larue)Yikes it's front heavy!:no:

strambo
01-20-11, 19:36
I would think the Emod would balance well with that setup. It almost balances my heavy as crap MRP with 16" piston barrel. It is tail-heavy with the 10.5" barrel in it. A 14.5" with a lighter rail/receiver would likely be just right.

Cvolin85
01-20-11, 19:40
Cool Strambo! I can't wait to start building. :thank_you2:

Col_Crocs
01-21-11, 02:46
Yup. Another vote for the Emod here. Im a ctr person but Ive been reconsidering that thought since handling the Emod. Very good balance and ergonomics. If you decide to opt for the Emod get it with the A5 buffere system.

Cvolin85
01-21-11, 03:51
Yup. Another vote for the Emod here. Im a ctr person but Ive been reconsidering that thought since handling the Emod. Very good balance and ergonomics. If you decide to opt for the Emod get it with the A5 buffere system.