PDA

View Full Version : MOE Mid length hand guard and the MBUS front sight

JMEL
01-20-11, 20:16
OK so I'm new to this whole AR addiction and am building my first one. So I ordered a Palmetto MOE LPK and then the Mid length hand guard and the MBUS as well as some other MagPul goodies. My original game plan was to mount the MBUS frt sight on the gas block. Not seeing the warning posted about doing this I now have a Front MBUS sight I can't use. My question is why does MagPul make the two parts but not make them compatible with each other. I love the looks of both but now it looks like I will need to go with a steel flip up frt sight now. OR is there a way I can use the MBUS frt sight with another type of mount. What about a rail extension off the gas block that would help with the heat issue, just looking for help here before I buy another frt sight.

JMEL

JMEL
01-22-11, 18:30
Well no help here so I bought a metal flip up frt sight. Anyone want to buy a NIB MBUS FRT sight?

JMEL

Hmac
01-22-11, 19:04
OK so I'm new to this whole AR addiction and am building my first one. So I ordered a Palmetto MOE LPK and then the Mid length hand guard and the MBUS as well as some other MagPul goodies. My original game plan was to mount the MBUS frt sight on the gas block. Not seeing the warning posted about doing this I now have a Front MBUS sight I can't use. My question is why does MagPul make the two parts but not make them compatible with each other. I love the looks of both but now it looks like I will need to go with a steel flip up frt sight now. OR is there a way I can use the MBUS frt sight with another type of mount. What about a rail extension off the gas block that would help with the heat issue, just looking for help here before I buy another frt sight.