PDA

View Full Version : Question for the pro's

Webhead
01-21-11, 20:52
I've been shooting for over 20 years, but have finally recently purchased my first Remington .308 bolt gun.

Any suggestions on good rings/scopes out there? My objective for the weapon is a long range target rifle, possible hunter later on down the road.

Your expertise is greatly appreciated.

austinN4
01-22-11, 06:54
Badger Ordnance, Seekins Precision and Warne are probably the top 3 independent manufacturers (don't make scopes). There are also the scope manufacturers and less expensive independents.

You also need to decide if you want steel or alloy.

Check out the wide selection and prices at SWFA: http://swfa.com/Mounts-Rings-and-Bases-C573.aspx

My own choice was a 20 moa steel Badger base and steel Badger rings.

orkan
01-23-11, 00:16
Rings - nightforce, badger, seekins. I like badger best.
Base - nightforce, badger, seekins. I like seekins best.

20moa base will get you to 1000yds from 100yd zero, given you go with an optic suited for the task.

Optics, well its a lot of user preference. Here are some of mine:

Premier
S&B
Nightforce
IOR
Vortex

Really, I'd need to know your budget, and more detail on what kind of shooting you will do most to make an educated suggestion for you.

okie john
01-23-11, 14:15
This question is too broad to answer with the information given. Target shooting and hunting require such different things from a rifle that most people build/buy specific rifles for each. A workable ring/base/scope combination for one will be awkward for the other, and the best for one is pretty much useless for anything else.

The best combination for a target rifle depends on what type of shooting you want to do. For a specific discipline, copy the people who win matches. That’s a good start even if you just want to break rocks across a canyon.