PDA

View Full Version : Fiocchi 9MM Luger 92gr EMB

askani79705
01-26-11, 04:30
http://www.midwayusa.com/viewProduct/?productNumber=249242

What's the consensus on this stuff ?

Irish10
01-26-11, 15:38
I have been playing wwith this round for about eight months. I managed to score a case at a very low price and was intriqued by the bullet design. Primarily I wanted a dependable carry round for my HK P7s which HK states need a bullet of at least 100grns and that tend to be picky when it comes to 147grn rounds. My M8, M13 and PSPs eat this round like crazy and it has a distinct report when shot. I have shot it at distances out to 60 yards and it's spot on accurate with groups being under two inches at longer distances. While I havent done any "testing" there is quite a bit of info available on this round and it's ballistics seem impressive. FWIR, out of a four inch barrel it runs approx 1240fps and it just destroys the ballistics gelatin on impact, making a very impressive cavity for a 9mm round. Not sure on how it would do against barriers, glass, metal, etc but I wouldn't feel "unprepared" knowing I had a mag full in my pistola!
ADDED: This round is based on the old Hirtenberger 9mm+P+ SMG round that had a rep for tearing up pistols but this is a much softer round. I think the Hirtenberger was a 100grn round and it was HOT fwir. Here's a few links to data on the EMB, ones from 05 and the other from last year. Pretty impressive. http://www.raoulwagner.com/tests2005.htm
http://thefiringline.com/forums/showthread.php?p=4359583#post4359583

askani79705
01-26-11, 19:20
Thank You,I scored some @ $8.50 a box. I figured if anything I could just use it for practice.

Irish10
01-26-11, 19:44
You got a great deal. Ammunition to Go has it listed at $22 a box!

kartoffel
01-26-11, 21:25
I'd be skeptical of anything that light, especially for serious (i.e. non-training) purposes. Still, I've had no problems with 95 grain training ammo in any pistol.