PDA

View Full Version : FNP 9 v. CZ SP-01 Tactical

JB326
01-28-11, 23:30
Hello Gentlemen,
I recently sold my "hunting rifle" and I'm in the market for a new pistol. I will preface my thread by saying that I'm a LEO and we are only allowed to carry Glocks. Actually I would most likely still CARRY a Glock even if I had a choice. Beyond that, I am a fairly competent pistol shooter, and I shoot smalltime competitions here and there when I have a spare minute. But variety is the spice of life, and I'm ready for some more flavor. What ever I end up getting will most likely see some 3 gun/ IDPA usage, a lot of range time, and a little bit of carry. I say all of that to say that I'm a fairly experienced shooter but I have ZERO experience with either of these guns, and that is why I bring my dilemma to you guys here. I have never been anything less than impressed with the knowledge here on m4C.

The CZ SP-01 Tactical (not the Phantom) is somewhat of a bucket list pistol for me. I really don't know why, but it is. They fit my hands better than anything else I've ever handled, and I like the heft. I was actually dead set on the CZ until I read a few things about some part breakages/ durability issues. I've searched here and read a good bit on the CZ, but I'd really like to get some fresh up to date intel before I make my final decision.

The FN was not even on my radar until I went to the shop this past week, and they have the gun, five mags (2x 10rds, 3x16rds), and the 'Shooter's Pack" (holster and double mag pouch) all for $499. (And since my holster company is a vendor at the shop, I was quoted $500 out the door.) The CZ still feels better to me than the FN, but the FN feels better to me than a Glock, and the price on the FN set-up seems pretty hard to beat. Again, I can only go from internet testimonials on this gun, but everything I've read seems pretty positive.

I look forward to your feedback and opinions... Thanks in advance!

Lincoln7
01-28-11, 23:43